S’mores Cake Balls (a failure turned fabulous)

4 Jun

The other day I nearly burned a batch of mini-cupcakes – they were crispy in places and were terribly difficult to get off the papers. I was about to throw them away (tearfully) when I realized – I should make cake balls!

If you’re out of the loop on this cake ball craze, you should get in. They’re versatile in both taste and appearance, and (best of all) they’re SO EASY:

  1. Bake a cake, any cake.
  2. Crumble the cake into small, fluffy crumbs.
  3. Mix the crumbles with frosting (any frosting).
  4. Shape mixture into balls, and dip in chocolate.

You can experiment with all kinds of cake/frosting flavor combinations, and there are suggestions all over the internet to help you get started. You should also know about Bakerella – baker, blogger, and author of Cake Pops, the book that may well have been cake balls’ and cake pops’ rocket to fame.

So for my steps 1 and 2, I used my cupcakes.

My sad little cupcakes, about to be re-born.

I salvaged only the fluffy parts - most of those burnt edges didn't make the crumble.

Since I had less than half a batch’s worth of cake, I used this time to experiment:

S’MORES CAKE BALLS

The cake is just a white cake.

For the frosting, I mixed one part vanilla frosting with one part marshmallow creme to make (I hoped) an easy marshmallow frosting. Then, I added about a tablespoon of cocoa powder to the mix to absorb some of the extra moisture and for extra chocolate flavor.

The marshmallow frosting was great by itself, but the marshmallow taste in the batter was too weak. So, I decided to fill each ball with marshmallow creme.

frozen and still-sticky marshmallow blobs

Of course working with marshmallow creme is tricky sticky. I froze some little blobs of marshmallow creme so they were easier to work with, but that really didn’t work. Looking back I definitely should have melted the marshmallow creme and piped it in.

If you’re making “pops” (cake balls with candy/sucker sticks in them), it helps to dip the stick in chocolate before you stick it into the ball – for some extra reinforcement:

Milk chocolate for dipping, of course, and then graham cracker crumbs.

They really were yum.

Camping, anyone?

.

.

.

.

.

2 Responses to “S’mores Cake Balls (a failure turned fabulous)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Angel Food Cake Balls (Experiment)! « dolcetti di vita - June 9, 2011

    […] really not what we think of as cake balls because there isn’t much of a cake-crumb-and-frosting-batter. One of these balls is made up […]

  2. Angel Food Cake Balls (Experiment)! « Inspire Me Thrifty - March 24, 2012

    […] really not what we think of as cake balls because there isn’t much of a cake-crumb-and-frosting-batter. One of these balls is made up […]

Leave a Reply

