Raspberry Lemonade Cupcakes

7 Jul

Talk about a summer treat – these are sweet in the summer-y-est way possible! They’re scrumptious lemon cupcakes with raspberry frosting.

LEMON CUPCAKES

  • 1 box Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme cake mix (or any lemon cake mix you want to try)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • vegetable oil (the amount on the box)
  • 4 large eggs (instead of the amount on the box)
  • 2 tsp. lemon zest
Prepare as directed on the box.
*

RASPBERRY FROSTING

Okay, I experimented. I’ve always wondered how this would work: I used a 16.2 oz. can of whipped fluffy white frosting (Duncan Hines), and added one individual packet of raspberry lemonade powder (you know, the “on-the-go” kind that you add to a water bottle). It actually took really well, BUT the flavor was too strong. I’ll definitely try it again, but I’d probably use half as much – maybe 1/2 tsp. to start.

Good to know!

Leave a comment